Culture of Life Making a Comeback?

For the first time in decades, the number of people who want abortion to be legal in nearly all cases is going down.  In fact, for the first time in decades those who oppose abortion out-number those who support it!  The poll was conducted by the Pew Research Center.  The Gallup people are getting similar numbers so it is clear that this is not just an outlier poll. 

Still we remain divided at almost 50/50 on the issue.  I haven’t been able to find much on why people think that the trend might be going in favor of life, but I have a couple of theories.  One is technology.  It was sort of easy for people in the 60s to rationalize that what they were carrying inside of them was just a bundle of cells.  It was even a little bit plausible with the early ultrasound machines where the technician would have to say, “Now, this is the head…..” 

But now we have have 3D ultrasound that shows in great detail that what you are carrying is a baby; not just a bundle of cells, but a baby.  We are also seeing babies being saved at earlier and earlier weeks of gestation thanks to technology.  I just read an article about extreme premies who lived and are doing well even though they were less than 2 pounds at birth.  It’s harder for people  to justify killing a baby when they know that it could survive outside of the womb.

Here is what Psalm 139 has to say about this contemporary subject:

13 You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body
and knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14 Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
Your workmanship is marvelous—and how well I know it.

15 You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion,
as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.

16 You saw me before I was born.
Every day of my life was recorded in your book.
Every moment was laid out
before a single day had passed.

Whatever the reason is for the shift in thought, I’m glad for it and hope that the trend continues!

1 Comment

Filed under Abortion

One response to “Culture of Life Making a Comeback?

  1. Hello,

    My name is Huckapedia, I’m the moderator of the Huckabee Fan Club. I’m a big fan of Governor Mike Huckabee. I found your website on Huckabee’s HuckPAC site.

    I’m wondering if you would like to exchange links by posting each others website address on both websites? It will help increase the strong network between all Huckabee Fans worldwide.

    If you are interested, our website address is: http://www.huckabeefanclub.com

    Thanks and have a super great day!
    Huckapedia

Leave a Reply

