In Memoriam-9/11/01

Most people remember where they were when they heard the news:  America is under attack.  I was driving in to Fort Smith, AR and listening to the news on the radio.  I can still feel the sinking feeling in my stomach.   Tears started coming to my eyes as I started to pray for the people who were trapped in the buildings. 

I had driven in to Fort Smith that morning for the start of our ladies bible class.  I remember ladies coming in after me with more news, first the pentagon, then the rumor was that the White House  was under attack.  I remember praying with those ladies and being very tense, wondering what would happen next.  Then the towers came down……Then flight 93 came down……

It’s been 8 years and thankfully we haven’t been attacked since.  We have seen the terrorist attacks in England, Spain,  Scotland and around the world in various places and we are now and have been a nation at war.  My daughter is young enough that she doesn’t remember a time when we weren’t at war. 

No matter what the President wants to call it, we are in a war on terrorism.  To think anything different is to shrink back into that naive, complacent mindset of 9/10/01. 

To think anything different is to dishonor the memories of those who lost their lives on that horrible day.  I can guarantee that Al-Qaeda hasn’t forgotten and they aren’t giving up.

We must remain vigilant…and we must never, never forget.  May God bless those who lost loved ones that painful day and may God continue to bless America.

1 Comment

Filed under 9/11, Freedom

One response to “In Memoriam-9/11/01

  1. Quite a painful day indeed! I remember wishing I was with my children and came up with an (incredibly valid) excuse to go kiss them during work. My co-workers yacked about it, but not one besides me seemed upset about anything except getting gasoline and being stuck in traffic – at $5 a gallon.

Leave a Reply

