Why We Love Our Country: reflections from the women of Crosssection

Shelly:

Many times I have wondered why I was so fortunate to be born in the United States.  I remember visiting the Tomb Of the Unknown Soldier in Washington D.C. as a little girl.  It gave me goosebumps to watch the changing of the guard-the solemnity, precision, and care with which the soldiers performed their duty to honor those fallen heros of wars past known only to God.  I remember visiting the Arizona Memorial in Pearl Harbor.  I remember that the water quietly lapped against the sides of the memorial.  The reason I could hear the water so plainly was the fact that all of the visitors to the memorial made their visit in respectful silence; each of us contemplating the awful day of attack when so many young men with their entire lives ahead of them gave the last full measure of devotion to their country.  I have wondered if I truly deserve to live in a country as wonderful as the United States.  I’m sure that I do not.  Have I always honored the memories of all of those who have fallen on my behalf so that we could remain a free people?  Truly, the answer is no, I haven’t.  Only by the grace of God have I been able to call this country my home and I do love it. 

There are many reasons that I love my country.  The most important of these is the freedom to worship in my own way and the freedom of speech.   The United States has truly been a beacon of hope for many people living in tyranny who would give their right arm to be able to attend worship services and to talk about their faith openly.   I also love my country because only in America can someone attain their dreams regardless of where they start out in life. 

We owe a lot to those founding fathers who pledged their lives, their fortunes, and their sacred honor on that hot July 4th in 1776 to the proposition that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights, that among these are life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.  And, additionally, that to secure these rights, governments are instituted among men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed. 

Enjoy your July 4th holiday.  Remember all those who have sacrificed on our behalf so that we can celebrate this day and let’s remember those founding fathers who asserted so eloquently that our government derives it’s power from the consent of the governed.  Honor those who have sacrificed for the cause of representative democracy by being an active participant in it.

 

Bea:

All

Men

Equal

Rights

Individual

Choices

Always

Each beginning letter spells AMERICA.  I am blessed to be a citizen of this wonderful country.  To be able to worship God freely with others who have the same eternal goal.  Own a business that I chose instead of the government making that choice for me.  Being to able to live in the home and neighborhood of my choice.  I can pick my own occupation, and work at more than one job if I choose to.  The size of my family is not restricted by the government.  I can home school my children and teach them what I feel is lacking in our government run school system.  I can retire at whatever age I want, especially if I make wise investments and good financial choices. I can travel to all 50 states as often as I want.  I am truly blessed to have been born in AMERICA.  God bless this great country, home of the BRAVE, land of the FREE.

Beth:
Every mother has “one of those days” and on this day it was my turn. We had been blessed with the arrival our youngest daughter just a few weeks earlier and at the moment she was not happy. I remember it was a Wednesday evening and all the mayhem that is involved with trying to get everyone fed and cleaned up in time to get to church. I finally succumbed to the pressures of it all and conceded that we would be late (again) to church and sat down to feed my hungry baby. I flipped on the news (Fox, of course) to find a reporter in Israel chronicling the lives of another mother and child. The reporter shadowed the two as they were being dismissed from the hospital, listening to the nurses final instructions as the mother anticipated taking her new born child home for the first time. Along with all the free diaper coupons and baby shampoo they shower on you was an extra gift …… a gas mask. Every baby born in Israel is sent home with it’s own personal, infant sized, gas mask.

It was then it hit me….how overwhelmingly blessed I am to live in the United States of America. Thanks to millions of men and women who put their lives on the line daily my children have never been awakened to the sounds of air raid sirens. As I held my newborn child, who was experiencing some health issues, how incredibly thankful I was that, though it may not be perfect, we live in the country that has the best health care in the world. Even though I will admit, on more than one occasion, I have fed my children popcorn for dinner (popCORN it’s a vegetable, DUH) how privileged we are that my children have never been hungry or been at the mercy of the government to meet their daily needs. And most importantly, on this particular Wednesday night, as well as every other, I walked out of my house and up the walk to the church building to worship the God that I love so much without fear of persecution.

This fourth of July I encourage each of us to reflect in a very personal way what living in this country means to you. There is no better place in the world to live. May God bless the United States.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Fourth of July, Freedom

Leave a Reply

